6/22/2010 8:30:41 PM

This Year's Blue Planet Prize

... goes to two prominent climate scientists, Dr. Robert Watson of Great Britain and Dr. James Hansen of the U.S. The international environmental award is considered Japan's equivalent of the Nobel Prize.

Watson was selected for his significant role in providing scientific evidence about the depletion of the ozone layer in the 1980s. This led to the Montreal Protocol which banned ozone-depleting substances such as CFCs. He was also chosen for his more recent role in bringing together science and policy to protect the global climate, as a former chair of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change

Hansen pioneered the understanding and forecasting of the Earth's climate system. He predicted global warming in the future based on the climate model. He is a passionate advocate for action on climate change and is tireless in his efforts to raise public awareness on the issue.

Watson is the chief scientific adviser of the UK Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs, and chair of environmental science and science director at Tyndall Centre for Climate Change Research, the University of East Anglia.

Hansen is the director at NASA's Goddard Institute for Space Studies and adjunct professor in the Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences at Columbia University.


Share this

Stay in the Loop

Sign up to receive polar bear news and updates.

Sign Up!

Thank you for the support!