Polar Bears International

10/2/2013 10:37:04 PM

Breakfast of Champions

By Kt Miller, PBI Staff Member & Polar Bear Cam Manager 

The alarm goes off. I roll out of bed and start the hot water. My organic fair-trade coffee is ready to go. I pour the water and let it steep while I hop in for a quick shower, saving water and time, because I know that taking shorter showers is one of the many ways to reduce my carbon footprint.

I return to the kitchen and pull up my favorite source of inspiration, the explore.org LIVE feed of Ilka and the twins, a mother polar bear and her two cubs who live at the Scandinavian Wildlife Park in Denmark, one of the most progressive captive animal facilities in the world.

Ilka and the twins provide great entertainment and bring a smile to my face as I pull free-range eggs from the farmers market and veggies from the garden out of the fridge to make a scramble. Garden potatoes provide tasty hashbrowns to accompany the eggs.

I read, look at, or listen to the news while Ilka and the twins play. The fires, floods, and hurricanes remind me of the rapidly changing climate, but Ilka and her cubs give me hope. "If we can save polar bears, we can save the world," I think, and I hold onto that hope.

If we can stop or even decrease our carbon emissions we can preserve an incredibly delicate and important arctic ecosystem that acts as a worldwide temperature regulator. And by doing so, we'll preserve the health of our planet for generations to come.

Tune in. Be inspired. Initiate change.

Watch Ilka and the Twins LIVE for six hours EVERY DAY on explore.org.

12:00pm - 6:00pm in Denmark

6:00am - 12:00pm Eastern

5:00am - 11:00am Central

4:00am - 10:00am Mountain

3:00am - 9:00am Pacific

Share this


Stay in the Loop

Sign up to receive polar bear news and updates.

Sign Up!

Thank you for the support!